Examples Of Assault And Battery
Below there are some examples of some situations that can be charged as an assault and a battery offense in Florida.
Example of Assault
Peter abruptly stands up, gets in Jamess face, raises his fist, and says, I dare you to say that again. James, afraid of being hit, backs down and leaves. Since there was only the threat of not actual violence, this is assault.
Example of Battery
After Peter stands up and threatens James, James punches Peter in the jaw. Because James touched and caused Peter physical harm, this is battery.
Assault As Defined By The California Penal Code
According to the California Penal Code, assault is an unlawful attempt, coupled with present ability, to commit a violent injury on the person of another. An assault conviction is a misdemeanor that carries a maximum jail sentence of six months and a maximum fine of $1,000. However, California law carves out certain exceptions that carry a maximum one-year jail sentence and a maximum $2,000 fine. Those exceptions pertain to the person who is on the receiving end of the assault.
For example, if Charlie gets mad at his neighbor, Ralph, and throws a punch and misses, Charlie could be charged with assault. However, lets say that Charlie and Ralph arent neighbors, and that Charlie takes a swing at Ralph in public. If Ralph is acting in one of the following roles, then Charlie could receive the longer jail sentence and higher fine:
- Peace officer, traffic officer, code enforcement officer, animal control officer, or search and rescue team member
- Doctor or nurse helping in an emergency outside of a healthcare setting
- EMT or paramedic
- School employee
- Servicemember, if the assault is because of a bias against the servicemember
Even if Ralph isnt acting in one of those roles, Charlie may be subjected to the longer jail sentence and higher fine if he strikes out at Ralph in one of these places:
- School property
- Park property
- On a bus, taxi, train, streetcar, or cable car, or in the parking lot or station of a transportation provider
Assault How Many Years In Jail
The maximum prison sentence for common assault and battery in the UK is 6 months and/or a £5,000 fine.
For ABH the maximum prison sentence is 5 years.
For section 20 GBH the maximum prison sentence is 7 years.
For section 18 GBH with intent, the maximum prison sentence is life imprisonment.
Although it is worth noting that the above are the maximum sentence and not what is given in every case. With well-presented mitigation a lesser sentence can often be achieved.
Also Check: Where To Change Car Battery
What Types Of Charges Can Be Filed For Assault Or Battery
There are two different types of charges that can be filed for both assault and battery – simple and aggravated. The difference between the charges can be broken down into the accusers intent and if that intent was malicious. Each type of charge can lead to different punishments in the state of Georgia:
- Simple Assault and Simple Battery: these charges are usually defined as a misdemeanor. This could lead to up to 12 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
- Aggravated Assault and Aggravated Battery: compared to their simple assault and battery counterparts, an aggravated assault or battery charge has a heftier penalty. A conviction could mean up to 20 years in prison, probation up to 20 years, and a fine up to $100,000. If someone is convicted of aggravated assault and used their firearm while in a vehicle, the state imposes a three-year minimum prison sentence.
If you or a loved one is facing an assault or battery charge – whether its classified simple or aggravated –our attorneys are ready to help you. at 471-3177.
Penalties For Assault And Battery
Nevada state law details how one would be punished for committing either assault or battery. In addition to regular penalties, there are also penalties for committing either crime against a protected class. Protected classes include:
- Fire-fighting agencies
- Taxicab drivers
- Transit operators
The punishment for assault and battery depends on whether the action is considered a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, Category D, C, or B felony. Who the crime is committed against and in what manner will determine how charges are classified.
Recommended Reading: Batteries Plus High Point Nc
Assault Battery And Aggravated Assault
The crimes of Battery, Assault, and Aggravated Assault are all intentional harming from one person to another.
All offences associated with a physical attack are generally in the category of Assault or Battery.
Based on crime severity, the level of crime rises to another level of Aggravated Assault. Aggravated assaults can attack more than one side, and a fight can also lead to prosecution even if the two agree to fight each other.
Contact Belen Olmedo Guerra If Youve Been Charged For Assault Or Battery In Phoenix
Belen Olmedo Guerra is an experienced defense attorney who has argued many felony cases at court and has extensive knowledge of violent crimes. If you or someone you know has been charged with assault and battery, contact the Belen Law Firm at , or fill out a short form for a free and confidential consultation.
You May Like: Ipad Pro Battery Replacement Cost
What Is The Crime Of Simple Assault
An assault is normally defined as an act that puts the victim in reasonable apprehension of harmful or offensive contact.1
While a battery involves the actual use of force or violence, assault specifically focuses on the attempt to use such force or violence.
Note that with regards to the use of force or violence, any harmful or offensive touching is generally enough to give rise to an assault charge. The slightest touching will count if it is done in a rude or offensive manner.2
Assault charges can even occur if the touching involved did not or could not cause any sort of physical injury.3 Further, the actual touching does not have to be direct. It can be done indirectly by causing an object to touch the victim.
Assault violations are typically charged as misdemeanor offenses. The crime is often punishable by:
- imprisonment in jail for up to six months, and/or
- a maximum fine of $1,000.
Some states have different degrees of assault, such as first, second, and even third-degree assault.
Note that aggravated assault offenses are more violent crimes than simple assaults. Examples of this form of assault include:
Assault And Battery Charges
No matter the circumstances involved, assault and battery can be a very serious crime. As this is classified as a violent crime and always has a victim, there can be severe consequences as a result of these charges. The difference between assault and battery lies in whether there was a threat of harm or actual contact with the victim. Assault only requires that a victim be reasonably afraid that the defendant was going to cause them harm, as well as proof of the defendants intent to do so. To prove battery, there must have been some kind of intentional contact that was offensive or harmful. Aggravating factors can be the difference between an assault and battery charge being a misdemeanor or a felony, especially depending on who the victim was and how severe the harm was. Fighting against assault and battery charges may involve claiming their actions were in the defense of themselves, others, or their property. Additionally, consent and the presence of all required conditions can be used to build proper defenses as well. In some cases, even if criminal charges cant be pursued, a victim may be able to press civil charges against their attacker.
If youve been accused of assault and battery, its best to get into contact with a lawyer and avoid all contact with the accuser without your attorney present.
You May Like: Places To Buy Car Batteries
Assault Crimes In Minnesota Vary In Degree And Severity
In Minnesota, assault charges vary in degrees of severity from misdemeanor to felony . Assault can refer to either the intent to cause bodily harm or the creation of a scenario where the victim is supposed to believe that theyre about to become the victim of bodily harm.
Fifth Degree Assault is a misdemeanor and MN Stat 609.224 defines this offense two ways. Whoever does any of the following commits an assault and is guilty of a misdemeanor:
A person can be charged with an assault even if they never actually strike or come into contact with that other person.
For example: Suppose a defendant is wielding a physical object, like a chair, and raises it above another persons head or approaches a victim in a manner that suggests theyre about to attack. This immediate sense of danger on behalf of the victim is in itself assault, with emphasis on the immediate. But, threats suggesting far off in the future or at a later time do not constitute assault.
A fifth-degree assault is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine or both.
A fourth-degree assault is a gross misdemeanor and MN § 609.2231 covers a variety of types of assaults against particular individuals that entail greater punishment than that of a misdemeanor. A gross misdemeanor is punishable by up to 365 days in jail and a $3000 fine or both.
New Jersey Battery Laws
This means you cant be arrested for assault and battery in New Jersey, but you can be tried for them in civil court. Assault and battery are torts that refer to causing physical injury to someone else, and the victim of that injury could in return sue you for the damages they sustain .
In this context, the tort of battery is the act of actually striking someone, causing injury. Assault in this context is the act of making someone fear physical injury, such as attempting to hit them, physically intimidating them, and much more. Its typically much easier to win a battery civil tort case than an assault one.
For more information or for a case evaluation if youve been accused of assault in New Jersey,contact the Bergen County criminal defense attorneys at Brickfield & Donahue by calling 574-7919!
Recommended Reading: How Long Does Hybrid Battery Last
The Difference Between Assault And Battery In Arizona
Assault and battery are crimes paired together: the crime of threatening a person paired with the act of making physical contact with them. Arizona prosecutes both crimes very seriously. Both crimes involve threatening harm or actually causing harm to another person. Whats the difference between assault and battery? The laws surrounding assault and battery in Arizona can be complicated. So, it is important to hire an experienced defense attorney for your legal defense.
What About Civil Assault
Civil assault cases require the victim to file their own case in civil court and hire an attorney to make the case. While criminal assault begins with a crime and subsequent arrest, in civil assault it is the victims responsibility to file the case. The victim typically files a personal injury case to sue the offender for damages.
In regards to civil assault, its typically to seek damages awards or injunctive relief to prevent further harm. It should be noted that alleged suspects of civil assault cannot be sentenced to prison or jail time because the remedies in civil court are limited to civil remedies such as money damages.
Compared to a criminal assault case where the state prosecutes the charges, civil assault cases have a much lower burden of proof and the victim need to prove her case by a preponderance of the evidence . The more difficult aspects in civil cases come from the issue of proving damages.
Recommended Reading: How Long Do Ups Batteries Last
Pennsylvania Assault And Battery Criminal Defense Lawyers
If youre facing charges in Pittsburgh for assault and battery, you need an experienced criminal defense assault attorney to help you navigate the criminal justice system. SMT Legal has worked hard for the people of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania for years. We can explain your charges, review the facts of your case, present the potential outcomes, and represent you at every step of the proceedings. Your freedom matters to us. Contact SMT Legal today for more information on how we can help.
Exercising Your Rights Is Imperative
If you are charged with assault or battery, exercise your right to remain silent and your right to have your attorney present for any questioning. Dont make any statement written, recorded, or verbal to anyone but your defense attorney.
If you are charged with assault or battery, your Virginia criminal defense lawyer will probably seek to have the case dismissed. If that isnt possible, you have the right to a jury trial where your attorney will explain what happened and why the jurors should find you not guilty.
However, if the evidence of your guilt is strong and a conviction is certain, your attorney may negotiate for a lesser charge or for alternative or reduced sentencing. Dont think about acting as your own attorney. Having the right defense attorneys advice and representation is imperative.
Don’t Miss: Sam’s Tire And Battery
New Jersey Assault Laws
The term assault is the one thats most often misunderstood. Generally, when you ask the average person what assault means, they think it means that someone beat someone else up or caused them injury in some deliberate fashion. This isnt exactly accurate. While assaultcould include causing someone physical harm, the laws in New Jersey and most US courts for that matter dont actually require any physical contact to occur in order for the crime to be charged.
New Jersey laws define assault as any actions or behavior which causes someone toreasonably believe that theyre at risk for physical harm from another person, either by negligence or deliberate action. In New Jersey, the term simple assault can refer to any action thats taken to purposefully or recklessly cause bodily injury to another person, including doing so with a deadly weapon, regardless of whether or not that injury actually occurred. Likewise, simply attempting to make someone fear imminent bodily injury by physical menace could also be considered assault.
There is another type of assault covered under New Jersey law as well: aggravated assault. Aggravated assault is a more serious form of assault, which elevates it from the category of simple. This can include things like intentionally causingserious bodily injury , intentionally or recklessly causing injury with a deadly weapon, committing assault against a protected individual , and causing serious injury in a domestic violence situation.
Simple Assault Vs Aggravated Assault
In many states, the criminal law of assaults is more accessible or aggravated. Depending on the attack severity, it is likely when the Assaulter follows the victim to attack, and the victim strikes back.
Aggravated Assault is a crime that can include a crime attack with weapons or make a serious crime.
An assault can also explain when it happens in a relationship that concerns the legal system for special protection. In such missing factors, the crime tends to be a simple assault.
The three different classifying attack levels are fair, the most severe, second, or third level.
Read Also: Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery
Difference Between Assault And Battery
January 11, 2011Posted by Olivia
Assault vs Battery
Assault and Battery are two different criminal charges that can be put against guilty person. Assault is the threat of violence while battery is physical violence. Some times, both charges leveled simultaneously against a person and sometimes separately. It depends upon type of crime, whether it is just threat or having evidence of physical contact.
Assault is a threat of harm that causes fear of physical hurt in a victim. The charge of assault is only applied, if the victim has only been threatened not touched by criminal. In short, a person who is charged by assault has not committed a physical harm to victim. There could be different forms of assault like waving a weapon, pointing a gun at any person, verbally threatening a person of committing a physical harm in future, use of any potential weapon to threaten a person like bat of baseball. Though, there are different types of punishment for an assault criminal in different countries, however the intensity of punishment is very low than Battery. The very important aspect of assault is that, in such type of cases it is very difficult to prove the crime. The reason is that there is no evidence of physical harm
It is the fact that both assault and battery are criminal charges, but they are different from one another. This difference is amount of contact. However, a person who commits a battery crime also has to face assault charge.
What Is The Difference Between Assault Battery Abh And Gbh
Below, this article outlines what is the difference between Assault, Battery, ABH and GBH. Whether you have been directly involved in a serious case of assault and battery, or you know someone who has, you may be familiar with the terminology to classify different serious crimes.
These can become extremely important to define exactly how serious the crime is, as well as the severity of the eventual sentence handed down to the perpetrator.
Recommended Reading: 2017 Honda Crv Battery Replacement
What Is Grievous Bodily Harm
Going further, if the attack is particularly violent, premeditated or involves a weapon such as a knife, the attack would be classified as Grievous Bodily Harm or GBH instead.
As with assault and battery, the punishment handed down depends entirely on the circumstances and how severe the injuries are sustained by the victim.
It is also judged whether the perpetrator intended to attack the victim or whether the attack was self-defence or even an accident while involved in a scuffle with many other people.
A section 20 offence is usually the lighter offence and concludes the attack was not intentional, with a maximum sentence of five years. However, a section 18 offence of GBH would be an intentional crime that causes severe injuries but not death.
This can carry a maximum sentence of life imprisonment as the injuries can often be life-changing for the victim.